A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

Informal Currency

Table 416 had already ordered, eaten, and paid, but the Mom’s direct eye contact begged, politely, for my immediate attention.  I beelined to the table. 
 
She pointed to her six year old and said, “He has something to ask you.”
 
“Okay, ” I said and lowering myself to his eye level.
 
“Do you want a sticker?” he said. 
 
I looked backed at him with big eyes and a half dropped jaw, “Do I want a sticker?  Are you kidding me?  Like, uh, yea!  Stickers rock!” 
 
I offered him my personal check presenter: the little black folder that holds my daily brewhouse check receipts and health cards and order pads.  I told him he can choose a spot to place my new sticker and that way I will always have it.
 
He thumb placed a quarter sized “Trader Joe’s 2011 Rose Parade” adhesive in the lower left quadrant.
 
I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or a bad thing that my mortgage company won’t acknowledge stickers as formal currency, because that sucker is near priceless to me.
One response

  1. Mom Cat

    Ahhhhhhhh.
    That was so sweet. He would be the same age as Josh, so I can picture how cute he must have been offering you that special sticker.
    Who knows that might be worth something in about 30 years…. 🙂

    January 24, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

