A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

New Year’s Day

My last brewhouse shift of 2010 was a distant memory when the clock rang in 2011.  I was home with loved ones and refrigerator of food waiting to become different food.   
 
My 2010 holiday season began for me the first night I watched the San Fran Ballet Nutcracker.  I bid farewell to 2010 and its holiday season the same way it began: with the second act of the Nutcracker.  I had no Gelsey, no Mikhail, but I had Alan Gilbert conducting the New York Philharmonic for a New Year’s Eve special live from Lincoln Center.  It was an all-Tchaivskovy program and a whole new way to appreciate the notes to which I plied and tondued years ago.
 
It was a perfect end and wonderful start to a new year and decade.  I like the thought of a fresh decade.  Ten years ago I was someone who plied and tondued.  I don’t anymore; now I mark time at the brewhouse.  365 days from now I might still be employed at the brewhouse but I will not be there ten years from now.  I am confident that sometime before the end of the next decade, I will be creative not corporate.
 
I thought I would start the road to creative immediately.  The future seems brighter already. 
 
Gruyere Gougeres
Emeril Lagasse’s Sauteed Scallops with Saffron Corn Sauce
Bon Appetit’s (Dec 2010) Short Ribs in Red Wine and Port
One response

  1. Mom Cat

    Oh my, that is sooooooo yummy looking.
    I wish I was there to taste it, especially the short ribs…….

    January 4, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

