A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

Cleaning House

My internet reception has been patchy-at-best since Monday (I was lucky my Betty White entry made it into cyberspace at all).  So while waiting for the world wide web air waves to unknot, I’ve been prepping for the new year; by cleaning.
 
Dusting and vacuuming were yesterday, kitchen stove and refrigerator were on today’s list, tomorrow I need to finish the bathrooms and spot steam clean the carpets, then I can greet 2011 with a clear conscience and even clearer glass surfaces.
 
I will be working New Year’s Eve at the brewhouse, though I’m sure I will be clocked out and long gone before the clock strikes midnight.  I will find a quick glass of champagne somewhere.  Then I need to turn around quickly to open the restaurant on New Year’s Day.  No big Las Vegas style parties for me this year, I’ve had my share in the past.  I’m looking forward to a quiet evening.  My morning routine however, will be one a bit more structured.
 
Years ago I came across this article in the “Las Vegas Weekly” and I kept it.  For many years it was taped to my refrigerator.  Every year I turn to my yellowed, tattered copy to follow the same New Year’s Day ritual.  It is, as author “Mystic Mona’ says, “A harmless way to create the best energy possible where you live.”
 
I’m not saying it helps, but it doesn’t hurt, and it is nice to start the year with a clean house and something as simple as fresh ice cubes.
 
Adapted from “Revving Up the New Year”: first published by The Las Vegas Weekly, 2003
 
Purchase some dried sage or cedar burning stick. Some sandalwood incense or mini-charcoal burning disks (seen at Whole Foods or a health food store) would work just as well. When you awaken on New Year’s Day, take a salt bath; one cup of salt (epsom or sea salt) in a tub of water. Feel free to enjoy your morning cup of coffee while soaking, I do. After five minutes of immersion, lather up and finish your normal grooming routine. Dry off with a freshly laundered towel and put on freshly laundered clothes.

 Light the sage stick or cedar or charcoal disks according to directions and wait until it begins to smoke. Begin at the front door. Make a counterclockwise circle around the perimeter with the smoking sage/cedar. Then going to the left (counterclockwise) walk the entire perimeter of the house. (If the house is two stories or more, begin at the front door and then go up and circle each next floor counterclockwise. If there is a floor above and below, do the main level first then the next level up, then below).

 This counterclockwise circle releases negative energy.

 Once back at the front door, still keeping the sage and cedar smoking, make a clockwise circle of the perimeter of the front door, then turn to the right (clockwise) and follow the perimeter of your home again. When you’re back at the front door, do one more clockwise circle at the door. The clockwise circle seals in positive energy.

 Then go to the kitchen and pour enough water on the smoking sage, incense etc, to make certain it isn’t a fire hazard before you throw it away.  Open every window in your house and turn on the fans.  That will clear out the smoke and bring fresh air into your house.

 While the house is airing out, go to the freezer and dump out all the ice into the sink.  We’ll even begin the New Year with new ice!

 Close all windows and turn off the fans.  Your house is now ready for a new beginning.  Have the following four items at the same meal before midnight. 

     Black-eyed peas: This is for luck in the New Year.

     Some sort of leafy vegetable: spinach, collards or even lettuce.  This is for money in the New Year.

     Meat from an animal that doesn’t scratch backwards (chickens and turkeys scratch backward).  Pork is a good choice.  This is so you don’t go hungry in the New Year.

     Something sweet: cookies, candy, cake or ice cream- so you can count on sweet surprises in the New Year.

3 responses

  1. What an awesome blog!

    Before we left from San Diego on our New Years Vegas Vacation, I cleaned everything because I didn’t want to go back to work with a mess at home. I can totally relate to the desire of starting another year off in the right foot!

    Happy New Year!

    December 31, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    • Thanks Bryan! I look forward to hearing from you in the New Year! If nothing else, our lives will be tidy…

      January 3, 2011 at 2:37 am

    • Thanks Bryan! I look forward to hearing from you in the New Year! If nothing else, our lives will be tidy…

      January 3, 2011 at 2:37 am

Leave a Reply

