A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

Got Nine Minutes?

Prior to the brewhouse job, which I consider ‘on the border of the culinary arts’, I was employed in the actual performing arts.  I was ballet trained.  I turned to modern dance and ultimately Broadway theater dance because of my skeletal structure.  If I knew as early as the age of three I might one day have the tiniest chance of dancing with Mikhail, I would have insisted my hips be broken open for a better turnout and have worked on my pirouettes soon after.
 
This 1977 version of “The Nutcracker” features two of the biggest ballet names ever: Gelsey Kirkland and Mikhail Baryshnikov.  If I had to define the word perfection through a video clip, this would be it.
 
You can find fancier, grander versions of the Nutcracker, but none will match the simple beauty and perfection of this performance.  Baryshnikov and Kirkland are at their youthful best.  Gelsey’s pointe work matches every note exactly of Tchaikovsky’s masterpiece.  Mikhail makes his entrance at 2:00 minutes.  (At 2:40, please remind yourself how  important it is to continue breathing).  Gelsey’s 360 degree turn about 4 minutes in is an optical illusion at best and a favorite ballet move…I’ve never seen it done quite like that.
 
Enjoy with a nice cup of cocoa.  Merry Christmas.
6 responses

  1. Love this!! So beautiful 🙂

    December 22, 2010 at 6:05 am

    • Thanks for sharing your appreciation of the classic arts. Merry Christmas, Anne Marie!

      December 22, 2010 at 7:10 pm

  2. So talented!
    Have a great Christmas 🙂

    December 22, 2010 at 8:28 am

    • Thanks Amy! Merry Christmas to you! Loved your blog photos, if Santa has culinary elves surely you would lead the pack!

      December 22, 2010 at 6:53 pm

      • Mom Cat

        Thanks for sharing that abolutely awesome portion of the Nutcracker.

        I am just beginning to catch my breath…

        Actually I had to watch it twice, as I didn’t want to miss any of the moves.

        WOW!

        December 25, 2010 at 3:03 pm

  3. Pingback: Apologetically, « Once Upon a Brewhouse

Leave a Reply

