A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

Holiday Torture

My entire life I have been a night person, I can’t help it, it’s just a fact.  That been said,
 
If I am scheduled for dinner at the brewhouse I wake up, do stuff, go to work.  Things are different if I am scheduled for lunch.  My day starts with an alarm clock. 
   

First, I send all my hate to the alarm clock. 
Second, I send my gratitude to the furry beast that has curled up on top of me thus forcing me to remain in the prone position for the length of a snooze alarm. 
Third, I compose short love sonnet to man who invented the snooze alarm as I strike it again. 
Fourth, I disturb furry beast as I roll to shut off alarm again and finally rise from bed as I surrender myself to the siren song of…
Fifth,…coffee. I brew, smell, and give thanks for coffee.
Sixth, feed cat, fish, and my soul with an unassuming Kenyan blend and 2% milk. 
Seventh, notice how late it’s getting, surely I only hit the snooze that once. 
Eighth, shower, dress, make up. 
Nineth, Grab banana to go. Go to brewhouse.
 
Right now it is 2am.  I have to work lunch tomorrow at the brewhouse and I know how much I hate mornings but,….My house is finally all cleaned and decorated with sparkling Christmas lights including a newly trimmed fir tree that makes everything smell great and the San Francisco Ballet’s Nutcracker on PBS, just began Act II.  I can’t be expected to just voluntarily fall asleep.
 
It’s going to be another ugly morning.
2 responses

  1. Mom Cat

    I feel your pain, but then I don’t stay up until 2:00 AM!

    I would never be able to even hear my alarm if I did keep those hours! ;0

    December 13, 2010 at 2:44 pm

  2. Pingback: The Many Faces of Santa « Once Upon a Brewhouse

Leave a Reply

