A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

A Tall Rum and Coke

I received a party of five; four adults and one child, about six years of age.  We bonded quickly over free beer samples and the hands down fact I make the best chocolate milk in the restaurant.  And I do.  Make the best chocolate milk.  The six-tear old confirmed it, yet again.  Thinking of putting the dairy accomplishment on my resume or maybe my culinary school application under special skills.  Anyway,
 
I enjoyed the party’s company very much.  We chatted politely through the beer tasting and laughed a little over entree selection.  They were people I would spend time with even if I wasn’t paid to spend time with them.  Within a few minutes I learned that the six year old likes sushi but not calamari because it’s fried and that bacon is what brings mankind together and what did we all think of last week’s episode of television’s “Hell’s Kitchen”.  All the important stuff.  Anyway,
 
While waiting for the table’s appetizers one of the gentlemen asked me for a tall rum and coke.  He already had a full draft beer in front of him.  I thought it was a bit odd, but I nodded in agreement.  I figured maybe he was ordering for the eldest female at the table; she was sipping a lemonade and perhaps didn’t feel comfortable ordering an alcoholic beverage.  My suspicions were confirmed when the eldest female leaned in to say, “Please make sure it’s tall”.   A tall drink, a drink with twice as much mixer to alcohol ratio is typically ordered by those who don’t generally drink.  This tall rum and coke must be for the eldest female at the table.
 
The tall rum and coke arrived to the party of five.  Glasses were raised in toast-like celebration and the dining experience continued in grand fashion.  Everything seemed normal but as I returned to the table for their warm conversation, I noticed the tall rum and coke sat untouched with the exception of one sip.  
 
Appetizer plates were cleaned and cleared from the table, beers were replaced with more beers and entrees were devoured, but the tall rum and coke, minus one sip, just sat near mid table.  Because of the cautious ordering of the tall rum and coke I didn’t feel it was necessary for me to question its satisfaction.  I didn’t want to call attention to the drink that was not supposed to garner much attention.
 
I cleared entree plates and offered coffee with something sweet to finish the meal, but the moans of satisfaction and overindulgence confirmed dessert was not an option.  Then the gentleman that ordered the tall rum and coke said to his party, “She loved dessert”.  He turned to me, “One dessert, five spoons”.  He continued to explain to me how yesterday they lost their mother and how this was a place she liked to eat and how much she enjoyed a tall rum and coke to start her meal and a dessert to finish.
 
I don’t know her name.  I don’t know if she is able to read many blogs from were she is or if she is able to read this one but if she does, I just want to tell her what a lovely family she raised.
One response

  1. Mom Cat

    What a wonderful story!
    It was so unexpected, but LOVED the ending.

    You go, girl, you are a great story-teller.
    Keep them coming…..

    December 11, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Leave a Reply

