A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

If It Worked for Samuel Beckett….

“That girl is no fun!”  I overheard Holly remark.  I’m not all that certain to whom she was referring, but that bit of information was far from important at the moment.
 
“I’m fun,” I said interrupting a conversion of which I was not included,  “What do you need?” 
 
“Take this to table 301 and tell them I’m mad at them.”
 
I grabbed the ketchup Holly proffered and headed in the direction of the table in need.  No questions asked, nor explanation necessary.  I was certain she would fill me in with the details in good time.
 
If it was anyone other than Holly certainly, eyebrows would have been raised:  Who exactly am I bringing this to? Why are you mad? How did this situation arise?  The facts that I did know as I made my way to Table 301: This was Holly’s plan.  It required someone fun.  And I’ll do anything for a laugh.
 
We servers like to kid with the brewhouse guests as long as we have a willing table.  My gifts to the brewhouse masses seeking entertainment as well as nourishment are flirting with the oldest male member of the table (60’s or older), or the youngest (booster seat or smaller), or just unintentionally ripping my blouse off (please see earlier post).  Anyhow,
 
Holly is a great server because she knows how to communicate with a table or at times, not communicate.  At all.  In the Tony celebrated Broadway play “Waiting for Godot”, the audience never meets the title character.  Table 301 was being waited on by Holly.  They would be seeing her tonight as much as Estragon and Vladimer saw their anticipated guest. 
 
Team service plays a big part in how our dining room operates.  One person may greet a guest, another will seat them, someone else could take a drink order and so on,  so when the actual table assigned server arrives on scene, guests can become confused.  Once a table mentioned to Holly jokingly how she doesn’t need to do any work at all.  Gauntlet thrown, challenge accepted.  Holly had everyone including the managers bringing them everything as long as the delivery was prefaced with the phrase, “Holly asked me to bring you this”.   She didn’t ignore them.  Quite the opposite, for it takes extra care to watch a table’s progress from afar.  Holly’s ‘ignored’ table loved every minute of her nonexistent service.   So much so, they tipped her beautifully and offered her a job with their company.
 
I arrived at table 301 and with outstretched Heinz bottle said, “You asked for ketchup?” Answering my own question with action, I placed the bottle on the table top and I turned to leave.  Then for dramatic effect, I swung back around, lowered my voice ominously and asked, “So what did you do to, to make Holly so mad?”  The burst of laughter was my cue to leave and end scene. 
 
Holly was watching from around a pillar.
 
I later joined her in the beverage station to get the full story.  As she filled in the blanks for me, she handed a soda refill to Janice and said, “Drop this on table 301 and tell them I’m mad at them”.  Janice left with a knowing smile on her face.
 
And we knew that table would be one of her best tips of the night.  Hopefully it wouldn’t lead to another job offer.  We prefer her here with us. 
Leave a Reply

