A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

Going Green for the Holidays

I recycle. 
 
Maybe a bit more enthusiastically than my neighbors but it doesn’t take any type of special effort to do so.  I am simply aware of things.  When I am done with a roll of toilet paper, I remove the cardboard roll, cut it in half and toss it in with the newspapers.  Any plastic wrapped around my plastic water bottles also joins the recycling when the bottles do.  It is a few seconds out of my life that allows me to take a full can of trash to the curb only once every two weeks and if I had a compost pile, I would toss even less. (Composting is next, I have three separate gardens and can’t afford manufactured fertilizer).
 
So when my Thanksgiving hostess Donna told me of her Thanksgiving refrigerator purging it made me realize how many non foodies might not be aware of the ease food recycling.  I was a little saddened knowing she tossed her turkey’s carcass the next day. 
 
A friend said to me years ago, “If an animal gave up it’s life for me, I won’t dishonor it by throwing it away”.  He turned out to be a bit of a weirdo, but I respected the phrase and it’s message.
 
And with special thanks to a Chef Oscar whom I worked with, here is a basic soup stock recipe.  One less thing to trash and with cold season coming up, I know this will be a wonderful soup base.  Just add cooked carrots, celery, onion and chicken later and reheat.  I might also just save a chicken soup from scratch for a later entry.  Turkey soup broth will work as well as chicken.
 
Poultry Soup Stock
 
5 lbs of miscellaneous poultry, Turkey carcass, gizzards, etc and include chicken wings or thighs to make the 5lbs.
1 gallon water, cold
2 onions peeled and quartered
1 carrot halved
1 parsnip (optional)
1 celery stalk quartered
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon dried thyme
a few parsley sprigs
8 whole peppercorn
 
Combine cold water and poultry in large pot and bring to boil.  Skim surface of any impurities (the foamy stuff).  Simmer for 20 minutes, skim again and add remaining ingredients.  Simmer for 2-3 hours.  Strain broth.  Toss all food solids- or use in compost.   Then please call me with advice on how to compost.
Leave a Reply

