A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

Decoration and a Snack

Holly and I were talking pie crust in the brewhouse dish pit one day and the subject of blind baking arose.  “Do you want to borrow my pie weights?” I offered.
 
“No thanks, I have rice.  And as Alton says, no kitchen item should be purchased that has only one function”.  Holly is a huge fan of the Food Network television show, “Good Eats” and its host Alton Brown.  I don’t have cable so I’m unable to worship him with the rest of the network foodies though Holly keeps me in the loop
 
I explained to her that pie weights do have two functions: 1.  keep the bottom of prebaked pastry from puffing and the sides from falling and  2. they look cute sitting on a shelf in a display jar.
 
Holly didn’t argue nor did she disagree.  I’m certain Alton would have a thought or two.
  
 
For Halloween I purchased two of these.  Their only job was to sit and add ambiance. 
But this year on Thanksgiving, thanks to the multi purpose gourd vegetable, I have 
 
roasted pumpkin seeds
 
pumpkin lasagna
 
roasted vegetable stew.
 
I’m sure Alton would approve.
3 responses

  1. PUMPKIN LASAGNA??? I need that.

    November 25, 2010 at 6:46 am

  2. Mom Cat

    What wonderful ideas for a pumpkin! Enjoying the pictures. Great job!
    My mouth is salivating.

    Enjoy today, we have a lot to be thankful for.

    Much love,
    Mom Cat

    ps. would love the recipe for the pumpkin Lasagna. 🙂

    November 25, 2010 at 8:50 am

  3. Shawn

    Is there anything you can’t do?? Somewhere Rachel ray is weeping and Martha is contemplating the loss of her domestic diva crown. Long live the new diva!

    December 8, 2010 at 10:42 am

Leave a Reply

