A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

The Following Morning

“Where were you yesterday?”   Holly was referring to my absenteeism at the ‘Katie/Baby Party’.
 
It was lunch rush.  I had tray of ice tea in one hand and was reaching for a caesar salad appetizer with the other.  There was no appropriate 5 second answer that I could shout to her, 5 seconds was all the time lunch rush allows.  Instead I stammered, “Katie knows” and sped-walked my first course into the dining room.
 
I knew Holly would tease me mercilessly when I explained why I missed the party.  Multiple tiered wedding monstrosities take less time to assemble than my one little Darkest Chocolate Crepe Cake.
 
I waited til the rush subsided and took my lumps.
 
“Eight hours?!” she looked at me incredulously. “For what?!”
 
And Holly now has the address to my blog.  The first entry I suggested she read,  “A Reason to Bake: Part Two”.
2 responses

  1. Mom Cat

    Looking forward to reading your blogs everyday.
    Such talent!
    I am amazed at how well you write.
    Think of a clever title for your book of short stories. 🙂

    November 15, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    • Thanks Mom Cat! Love, love, LOVE the name!!

      November 15, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Leave a Reply

