A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

A Reason to Bake: Part Two

What a difference a check engine light can make.
 
Yesterday I dreamed of a white, pure, elegant trifle to bake for my friend’s baby’s baptism, but it was the less expensive, dark, rich, chocolaty sinfulness that won in the end.
 
Oh well.  At least this dessert wasn’t swimming in liquor.  I didn’t have to worry about introducing the child to baby’s first alcoholic buzz
 
I wanted to try the Dark Chocolate Crepe Cake ever since I opened the January 2005 issue of Martha Stewart’s Living.  And I’m so glad I did for several reasons.  It was my first attempt with a buttercream type of frosting from scratch.  I got to practice pan flipping my crepes.  The delicious end product was something I need to and will make again.
 
The only thing I wish I changed was my starting time.  The cake took me eight hours from start to finish and I missed the party.  I suck.  
 
I am the first person to admit how badly my timing skills need work.  Not reading the recipe slowly and it’s entirety was my first problem.  I would have benefited from noting I should set eggs, and butter and milk out much earlier to achieve room temperature.  I also would have chilled the whipped heavy cream the night before if I realized it needed to chill for a hour before folding into the hazelnut creme.  I would have started the ganache before the cream giving it time to cool.  Next time I know better.  As for Katie…
 
She laughed when I called her.  And invited me for dinner the next night.  Her family was still in town for a few days and the cake would be a perfect finish.  Katie is low-stress, understanding, patient and a lovely person.  She is going to make an amazing Mom.  And that is why I would make her another eight hour cake anytime she wanted.
4 responses

  1. What a lovely sentiment, and that cake looks simply divine! I’m a novice baker myself, and I appreciate that it always takes much longer to make a successful cake than you ever initially planned.
    It looks like the results were well worth it though, for two reasons: You did something you’d never done before (well!), and you made someone else’s day better, which I think are two important factors in any baked goods.

    November 14, 2010 at 3:03 am

    • Thanks Jeffrey! I always happy to share recipes if you can’t find them on epicurious.com or other sites. I look forward to hearing about your adventures in baking and look forward to reading your blog as well!

      November 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm

  2. Pingback: The Morning After « Once Upon a Brewhouse

  3. Pingback: 6 Egg Yolks « Once Upon a Brewhouse

Leave a Reply

