A retired Vegas Showgirl walks into a bar…….

Grand Opening

My numerous years on this planet have taught me one important lesson: therapy is expensive.
 
I am a currently a Las Vegas food server that is cursed with financial woes as is the majority of America.  To the outsider, bystander, lay person, my job must seem relatively easy.  I work in a restaurant that features it’s own handcrafted micro-brewed beer.  My job is to act as segue between hungry folk and those employed to cook. Sounds simple enough, yet it isn’t.  It isn’t simple, it isn’t glamorous, I’m not getting rich and sometimes I feel like I’m going crazy.  And I can’t afford to do anything about the crazy part because, well therapy is expensive.
 
My initial goal wasn’t to be a food server.  I didn’t go to food service college, waitressing wasn’t my childhood dream.  I retired from my childhood dream in 2006.  And I hope to go back to school, this time culinary school.  I need money for that and for that I need a job.
 
The job of food server, during Nevada’s high unemployment period, is what I found for now. 
 
One day, I hope to have a small, successful restaurant.
 
Today I have the dream, and furry animals and a kick ass cookbook collection that keeps me more sane than weekly visits to a therapist’s couch.
 
So during this period of my life when I must wait for the things I cannot control to rectify, equity in my home to rise, economy to improve, close friends leaving Las Vegas for other cities, I’ve decided the one thing I can control is pen to paper or fingers to keyboard.  At the end of the day I do want to become a better writer.  Committing to a blog is the great way to practice.  I also understand it therapeutic impact does wonders.
 
Welcome to my Grand Opening.
3 responses

  1. Ken Monreal

    I am already hooked. Looking forward to reading it daily.

    November 4, 2010 at 1:02 am

  2. Leesa

    Very well written!!!!! CAN’T WAIT to see what you have in store for us tomorrow!

    November 4, 2010 at 10:52 pm

  3. shawn

    No one writes better than you. If it is therapy for you to write of your experiences than it is also therapy for us (albeit vicariously) who deal with people on a daily basis that make our teeth itch. Can’t wait to read more!

    November 5, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Leave a Reply

